Art and Ballet in Malaysia

I just read an interesting article on the ban of a contemporary ballet in Malaysia and what this means for contemporary art, and on censorship in general in Malaysia.

newspaper report says that a Singaporean dance company was denied visa due to indecent costumes therefore not able to perform in Malaysia. Indecent costumes apparently refers to the classical tights and short tutus worn in ballet.

I am trying to write something in this topic, but am still collecting my thoughts.

I don’t want to add to any speculation, as I am not aware of the whole story and don’t have enough background knowledge, I just want to mention some of my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

