In the Steps of Petipa, Ballet de l’Opera Nationale de Bordeaux, June 7, 2012, Hong Kong

I went to see “In the Steps of Petipa” yesterday, and had much anticipated this opportunity of seeing ballet. Now, dear readers, be patient and forgiving with me, as this is going to be my first ballet review.

First of all, I need to stress that my ballet education, both by watching and by dancing myself, started less than a year ago, so this is far from being an expert review – it is just my amateurish two cents.

They started the evening with excerpts from Paquita, then Don Quichotte, Swan Lake, Sleeping Beauty, and finally, Raymonda. In my memory stay the Don Quichotte and Raymonda. The rest of it kind of blurred in my memory, so I won’t be able to go into much detail.

I was slightly disappointed with the dancers after a few minutes. There was a row of dancers doing developpes in front, and their extensions were different by, I’d say, 70 centimeters or so. While one of the girls only lifted her leg up to her knee, most of the other ones lifted them up to their shoulders, so the impression I got was not one of equality and harmony, but more of chaos and disorder.

It continued like this: Dancers were out of line, out of tune with the music. Some of them were out of balance when doing an arabesque, and not even on demi-pointe, but on the whole foot. The jumps of the male dancers were low, and well, somehow nothing fit really perfectly, all seemed to be a kind of patchwork.

It seems very harsh to say this, especially as I don’t have a lot of experience with this, but yes, I guess this is what it felt like. I was impressed by the Don Quichotte part and by the technical abilities of the ballerina doing the Swan Lake pas de deux. And I thoroughly enjoyed the evening none the less. Such a good opportunity to see and watch and learn. I am looking forward to seeing their modern program “Tendances” tomorrow.

If you want to know more, read the post of fellow blogger Cynthia.

This entry was posted in Ballet.

Leave a Reply

