Weekend Workshop

I attended an intense ballet workshop last Saturday and Sunday. It is Wednesday now, and I can still feel my muscles – especially the inner and outer thighs and my shoulder and back muscles. This is good, I like it!

This was a workshop with a teacher I had never learned from. And it was just great! Do you know this impression that every teacher focuses on the same things and on different ones at the same time?

With the almost ten ballet teachers that I attended classes of, I have learned something new from each and every single one of them. Now this one told me how to hold my arms correctly, and how to move the shoulder blades so that the movement comes actually from the upper back. I am pretty sure I had heard this before, but he found a way to finally make it crystal clear to me what the correct posture is. And believe me, I do feel the newness of the sensation in every part of my back and arms.

And this led my thoughts to the following point: Sometimes, my body is just so slow. My mind does know what to do in the combination tombé, pas de bourré, chassé, pas de chat. I know each of these steps, I can explain how to do them in words, but when I actually have to dance them in the diagonal, something might just as well go wrong as I might get it right.  My body just doesn’t get what it has to do. Of course, I have been told about this by teachers, about the “body memory” that makes practice so important, and I know that everyone has this feeling or knows this phenomemon. It’s just that sometimes I get this feeling that my body works sooo much slower than my mind that I get frustrated. And I don’t know what to do about it, except for more practice. Are there mental trainings that can help?

 

Hmm, I guess I will do some research on the world wide web….

2 comments on “Weekend Workshop

  1. RO says:

    Practice makes perfect I guess..! I have had three teachers up to now and, like you said, they all taught me different things. Some just hit that sweet spot in your brain that makes something *click* or just sink in! Also, they might feel things differently and that might be the way that it feels with you, or not at all. I try to soak up as much knowledge from all of my teachers in order to become the best I can!

  2. You are totally right! I also try to soak up all the knowledge. I always listen to comments and corrections by my teachers very attentively!

Leave a Reply

